Are you a carer or newly diagnosed with Parkinson's?

We’re still urgently looking for volunteers that can travel to Bristol to take part in a group exercise. This activity is a part of our online review project and will help us identify how we organise information on our website in the future.

The exercise will take place in Bristol on Tuesday 8 November from 11am to 12.30pm.

We’ll reimburse any reasonable expenses.

If you or your family member are recently diagnosed (6 months or less) and live in the area, please contact Alana Mew at [email protected] or 020 7963 9328

Find out more about the online review project here: http://www.parkinsons.org.uk/pdsforum/posts.aspx?forum=about-the-forum&topic=update-online-communities-project

Good Morning

I have Parkinson's. I was diagnosed with Pk in 1992, but my first symptom occurred in the early 1960's.

Today, nobody would know I have Parkinson's. Why? I am not 100% sure about this, but, as a layman, I think it has to do with my medication, my exercise regimen, my positive attitude and my stress management.

My medication was a monotherapy of Eldepryl, which is an MAO-b inhibitor. I took this medication for ten years, and do not take it any longer.

My exercise consists of: Fast aerobic walking - eight kilometres (five miles) three times a week. Gym classes (stretching, coordination exercises, loosening-up and muscle toning exercises) twice a week. I also do Brain exercises every day (Su Doku Puzzles, and writing on my computer). I don't exerciae when I am not well. When that has happened, I start my walking at four kilometres a session and build up to eight kilometres by adding one every second week.

I get rid of any activity, which causes me to be negatively stressed, and avoid people, who cause me to be nehgatively stressed. I have had to rid myself, in the past, with anything, which caused me negative stress, including my job, my companies and some of my outside activities.