Concerned daughter of newly diagnosed Pops

My wonderful Dad has recently been diagnosed with Parkinsons. As in the past few days. It has come like a bolt out of the blue. Im a nurse, but not within the neuro field and all I know of Parkinsons is the few people Ive met in an acute sense. This scares me, Im petrified of the future and I suppose Im reaching out for reassurance that this is something that can be lived with and isnt as bad as I imagine. End stage Parkinsons. Im aware that some of my emotion is actually facing up to my Dads mortality as he is our families hero in so many ways. The rock of the family that has had a rough time of it throughout the years. We would not have survived without my Dad. I have so many questions and dont know where to start. At the moment I cant get through the day without bursting into tears around 20 times. Any, any help would be appreciated. Many thanks:cry:
Hi Giraffes and welcome. I know exactly how you're feeling as I went through it myself with my mum. With time you will come to accept and it doesnt feel such a shock. Remember your dad is still his own person and needs support but also to be allowed to carry on with his life as he wishes...cherish the many good times ahead and don't dwell on what may be, you just concentrate on the now :) that's what I learned to do. If you want to chat more, come and post in the carers forum as you will find people in the same situation there. All the best and this is a great helpful forum.
Hi there