Hi - I'm a newbie on here!

Hi,

I have just been diagnosed with PD at age 50. The symptoms started with left leg tremor almost 2 1/2 years ago - just after my 25 yr old son died and while nursing my hubby through cancer. Amonst all the trauma my GP thought the symptoms were side effects of some tablets she had given me. So stopped them. Symptoms continued but I was caring for hubby 24/7 so I put it all down to exhaustion and from lifting hubby. Many months later, my dear hubby age 50 was diagnosed with PD which had been misdiagnosed as chemo side effects. Once diagnosed he was treated very well for the remaining 6 months prior to succumbing to the dreadful cancer one year ago. After he died, the tremor spread to my left arm and I got a little scared, but GP thought it was all a part of the stress of losing my son and husband and I agreed. However, while seeing a rheumatologist for the pain on my left side, he asked me to see a neurologist friend of his who did a DaT scan and has finally diagnosed me with PD. I feel relieved in one way because I now know what all the weird symptoms are and that I'm not going mad, but I'm shocked that a husband and wife can both be diagnosed with PD at the age of 50!!! We were obviously not blood related! This also makes me really worried for my daughters - are they likely to inherit the PD?
hello julie & welcome,
what a terrible time you have had. I recognise the feeling of relief when a dx is finally made. Well done that rheumatoligst! Hopefully your neurologist will be able to establish a drug regime that will miminise any troublesome symptoms, either now or in the future.
I can understand your concern re your daughters. My understanding is that a susceptibility to develop pd MAY be inherited, but this does not necessarily mean that your daughters have inherited it or that they will inevitably develop pd. Perhaps you might dicuss this worry with your neuro?