Life and work

Hello,

My name is Marie, and my husband was diagnosed with Parkinson’s 3 years ago. I’m 46, he’s 56, and we’ve been together for 17 years.

There was some assorted hellishness to be endured on the way to diagnosis and again after diagnosis when my husband got bad side effects from his PD medication. But at the moment he is doing well on his drugs (Madopar, entecapone and Sinemet CR).

However, he has had to give up work and was awarded permanent disability benefits a few weeks ago. Surprisingly, I found the process more stressful than he did – I was so worried the people dealing with his application wouldn’t understand the nature of the disease. Now that it’s all decided, I feel very relieved, but can see that it is hard for my husband to accept and adjust to the idea of never working (for money) again.

I have been working from home for the last 8 years on various freelance and commission jobs. I used to work fulltime, but as the disease has taken hold of our lives, I find myself working fewer and fewer hours. It hasn’t really been a conscious decision, and I guess in a way it’s a great luxury that I have been able to adjust my work to suit our private needs. But it also means the whole career thing (and the income thing!) slipping away from me.

Life is becoming kind of bitty. Before, the rhythm of daily life came from work vs. free time, but now it’s like the structure is determined by when my husband has his medical appointments and DWP reviews and DVLA tests etc.etc.etc., and I’m just trying to fit a little bit of my old life around all the new needs. I think it helps that it’s been a gradual process, though, and most of the time I’m okay with it.

Anyway, having been a silent reader of this forum for a while, I find that since I joined up a week ago, I just can’t keep my fingers off the keyboard. This is such a brilliant place for advice and support, and the perfect place to go for a bit-player with a bitty life!

All the best,
Marie