TASER and the later development of Parkinsons

I am a research and development consultant involved with police science and for the past fifteen years studying Less Lethal options which include TASER. From personal experience this is a rather power shock weapon and highly effective in law enforcement however, quite a number of people I know who experinced TASER in repeated training scenarios now have Parkinsons.

These include some once very fit and healthy police officers and in one case, one of the top SAS trainers who took part in the Iranian Embassy Siege, so these guys were 100% OK before electrocution and now are sufferers. Over the past few years a few of my friends have voiced their concerns about TASER and the possibility it may trigger Parkinsons.

I have absolutely no medical proof and therefore seek anecdotal feedback or evidence from anyone who has either been TASERED and now has problems, or has Parkinsons after being electrocuted by any other means, even accidental.

There may be a link between high voltage shock, physiologival changes and the later development of Parkinsons...?

Whilst I do not wish to be a scaremonger the coincindence of people now with Parkinsons after TASER exposure would be an interesting thread to follow in this Forum

In all medical safety assessments of TASER the principal concerns were cardiac interference.

If eletrocution was a trigger, this advances our knowledge about what could bring on Parkinsons in a previously healthy individual

Popeye

I know its a bit pedantic, but you don't ever get feedback from people who have been electrocuted, as they are dead.

Hi Popeye,
I've never been electrocuted, nearest i got to that was probably when a hairdryer went pop on me! But.....i myself am often electical! meaning i can get a shock from things like my car door, hand rails on escalators etc. A loose connnection maybe??? Interested in hearing if anyone else can relate to this with P..d.

Diane