Am I classed as a Carer?

My husband was diagnosed at the start of November.
It would appear he’s had PD for many years only the symptoms could be explained by other things.
He had a spinal injury, pulling up plants at elderly parents, and tremor appeared at same time. That was ‘put right’ a few years ago & tremor attributed to PTSD only it clearly wasn’t.
He doesn’t need a huge amount of support yet but in recent poor weather I’ve taken him to work rather than him driving, I have to take charge of some things or he’d forget to do them and that includes making him eat as medication has suppressed appetite. Although I haven’t been able to attend medical appointments due to COVID restrictions- I’ve provided copious notes to support & taken him to hospital appointments for diagnostic tests etc.
I am a part-time secondary teacher working over 5 days. He, thankfully, left the classroom 3 years ago when redundancy was offered & now works in a supermarket having down shifted. They’ve been fantastic.
What I want to know is am I technically a Carer? I don’t really regard myself as one but someone at work said I should inform management as I would be entitled to certain rights. I’ve started looking into this tonight & got bogged down. I wouldn’t be entitled to any payment/benefits but would I need to be assessed? CN I just register at Doctors & Work?
Do I do enough to be classed as Carer?
Advice & answers appreciated.
Thanks
Jo

Hi @JoDav, :wave:

Welcome to the Parkinson’s UK forum.