Apomorphine

Hi all,

It's your favorite story teller here. (and yes part 3 is on the way). I was wondering about Apomorphine and wether it's worth gi8ving it a try, as I've tried every other medication there is on the market. I'm due to go to Bristol Hospital in July to discuss the next stage of treatment, DBS.

I asked my neurologist what other options there were available if it was decided that DBS would not work, as it doesn't work with everyone. He mentioned Apomorphine. Why he didn't recommend I try that first before DBS I'll never know.

Having done aq little research on it, it appears it was first moted as a treatment for PD as early as 1951 but it's first clinical use was in 1970. So how come I've only just heard about it? Is it a secret? Or just not widely advertised. I wondered if anyone else had used this treatment and how they got on with it.

Regards
Mick
Hello PoppaS, I have been using apo morphine pens for about 6 months now and they have been good. I use it in addition to my usual PD meds as and when I require it, which at the moment is 3 times daily, injecting myself took a bit of getting used to but the results are worth it.

It must be noted that it is a DA and on this basis I was concerned about using it as I developed an OCD when I used DA'a 8 years ago and it financially and emotionally destroyed us. This time however we hoped that our previous experiences would help us to recognize any changes in character or unusual activities quickly. Due to my adverse reaction to previous DA use I was considered an unsuitable candidate for the apo morphine pump but as the injections only last for about an hour and a half it was considered the best option for me. So far so good and I have found the pens to be very beneficial.

The injection kicks in within about 10 minutes and it stops my shakes almost completely and although it doesn't appear to completely get rid of any pain it certainly helps me feel better.