Are any of you carers for doctors with PD

I’m new to the forum. my husband is a doctor, as am I, and he was diagnosed 5-6 years ago. I am hoping to try to connect with other carers of doctors as I think we may share particular issues. My husband is still working in a reduced capacity and he is finding it very difficult if not impossible to come to terms with the diagnosis. He has been very secretive about the diagnosis so only health professionals treating him know, colleagues dont know. Very few of our family know, and I have only been able to tell two of my very closest friends. So I do feel quite unsupported at times. In particular my husband keeps chopping and changing his medication, which I suspect non doctors wouldnt do! This often causes negative consequences and I was wondering if others have experienced the same?

Hi @elizaB
First of all welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear about the situation where you are now.
I am a nurse with Parkinson’s disease since 2019. I could feel a bit of shadow of what you are going through at the moment. When you are in the health profession and becomes a patient is challenging. Same as your husband it was difficult for me as well to tell people. Still only some of my colleagues knows that I have the disease. But as the time progressed I am ready to talk about it and I am organising a teaching sessions for my colleagues about get it on time the PD medications with the intention to spread all around the hospital.
There is a saying …doctors and nurses are the worst patients, As knows about the treatments and medications etc etc …
I would say encourage him to be more positive . Accepting the reality is very difficult especially someone who knows everything about the disease. But thinking about it and keep on worrying about it won’t allow anyone to move forward. Positivity plays a vital role in the situation we are now.