Article in today's Times

Hi, I've just joined the forum, so please excuse me if I get any of the etiquette wrong!

I am a 57 year old professional man and was diagnosed 6 years ago. I have just recently given up work on the advice of my neurologist.

What spurred me on to join the forum was an article today's Times which, no doubt well intentioned as far as bringing awareness of PD to the general public was concerned, commenced in a shocking manner thus -

"It is the most devastating illness and there is no cure. Parkinson's disease crushes its victims by denying them control over movement and speech and a premature death is unavoidable"

I was furious at the writer's utter disregard for PD sufferers reading this article and phoned the Times, who put me straight through to him.

At first he got on the defensive claiming it was true - flying in the face of all the improvements made to control etc over the years. But when I explained the reactions of people like myself to such a dark, pessimistic and negative prognosis, he said he could see my point an apologised for the distress it had caused. In fact, a friend of mine who has just been diagnosed but is in a far worse state mentally than me, had to leave a function I was at with him tonight as he was so depressed as a result of the article.

I just wondered if anyone else had read the article and thought the same as I did about it?
I find this really difficult. Like a fair number of pwps I was so relieved when I was diagnosed that it was not a brain tumour, and others have said if you have to have a neurological baddie then parkies is the one to go for. BUT if you want public money spent on research then you have to display your wounds and wail in public. It's a nasty tough old world.

Sorry, should have started with hello and welcome to the forum!
hi oysterman