Barnowl1

Hi there, this might take me a while because I keep nodding off!  I am new to all of this.  Since i was diagnosed nearly 5 yrs ago i have been in ignorant bliss!  by choice i might add. Like most challenges and obstacles i have come across over the years, i took my diagnosis quite well. I think i coped ok because since my early 20's i have not been in the best of health having crohns disease. After a hemicolectomy i became pregnant with my son , once born i took up vigorous aerobic exercise sometimes 6 times a week which im sure kept me in remission for 17 yrs. Those days medics were not obliged to tell you the details and frighten you half to death so i thought that was it!  cured no more crohns. Over the next couple of years i realised it was a chronic condition i had for life but no medication throughout the 17yrs which was wonderful. After a flare up a few years ago i was then put on immune suppressants and other equally strong stuff to keep all at bay.  Whilst shaving my legs in the bath one day i noticed a tremor in my right hand, various appointments later irafter being told i had depression i finally saw a doctor at leicester general who diagnosed parkinsons. I was ok with this because i didnt know nor do i really want to know what i have in store, so i carried on as normal. Two years ago i was treated for thyroid cancer so that totals 3 conditions that sap my energy. I completed the Tough Mudder course and Lincoln 10k last yr and have registered this yr for the Lincoln 10k again in 3 weeks and 100k cycle ride through london in May. My training has been less than promising, i feel my conditions all the time and my brain is consumed by thoughts of what is going to happen to me. This is my reason for joining this forum, i am getting frightened.                       

Sorry that was a little long winded