Becoming my wife's carer

Hi, this is my first time on this, or any forum as I still class myself as a dinosaur in this hi tech age we now live in.
My wife was diagnosed with PD approx 11 months ago and I now find myself living indoors with her, as she panics whenever I leave the house. As you can imagine, this is causing problems with work. I am self employed and can do some work from home but I need to go out and meet customers. Our finances are getting stretched now because of this and I am thinking of having to give up work and become her carer etc but I don’t know which way I need to turn for financial help as I have never been unemployed for over 40 years.
My wife is now just past retirement age and I have another 3 years before I get there.
Any pointers will be much appreciated.

Hi Mr Mike,
We wanted to say hello and welcome you to our forum community. We are very sorry to hear things are so challenging for you and your wife at the moment. We can assure you that you are not alone in this, as you are sure to hear from our other community members soon. Happily we can offer you some assistance in the form of our free and confidential helpline, staffed with advisers who can help with finances and paperwork things, and that’s just the start. They can also assist with medication and with finding local support and in loads of other ways. Please do reach out to them at 0808 800 0303. We also have a website you can use as a tool to reliably inform, which stays up to date on research, news, and archived forum discussions.
We hope this will provide some small relief, and with our warmest wishes,
Jason
Forum Moderator

Hello Mr.Mike and welcome to the forum

Sorry to hear you’re having a hard time just now and it looks like you’ve got some important decisions to make.