Blue Badge

Hi,
This is my first time on the forum and was hoping if you could help me. I’m trying to apply for a Blue Badge but because I’m on the lower band of PIP I’ve been told I cant apply.
I was informed that I could apply to my local council (Reigate & Banstead) who have discretion when it comes to issuing badges.
I’ve looked at the forms and they appear heavily weighted towards mobility rather than the complications and complexities of PD.
If anyone has had any success? I would love to hear from you.
Thanks for reading

1 Like

Hi first time on the forum, welcome :smile:
I agree the application does read havly weighted towards mobility but don’t let this put you off applying. I completed my application, ticked relevant boxes, and attached a copy of a letter from my PD nurse, application submitted and was advised I would hear within eights weeks. The following week I had an email to say it had been approved and badge on its way. Good luck!

Hi
Thks for reply.
Do you know what was outlined in the report from your PD nurse that swayed the decision?
Obviously i dont want any personal issues .I only ask as i dont have contact with a PD nurse.
Regards

Hi, I finally applied for a blue badge for my husband in February this year. He’s had PD for 6 years . As you say the form is very pro ‘how far can you walk etc’ and doesn’t focus on the unpredictable nature of PD. My husband also had a total knee replacement in November 2021, which, for a while further impacted on his mobility.