Cycling

Hi everyone i am new to this it is my first post so bear with me, since being diagnosed nearly 3 years ago i found because of my slowness of movement that i rapidly gained weight, so last year a friend recommended that i took up cycling.
I bought my bike last year in September a Dawes hybrid bike and i weighed 18stone at the time very overweight although i am 6'5" my weight is now just over 16stone, so as far as weight loss is concerned,the excercise has been beneficial.
I wondered if any other PD sufferers had found cycling beneficial to them.
Hi

Very interesting. See my posting on Forced Exercise being good under TREATMENTS.

see: http://www.parkinsons.org.uk/pdsforum/posts.aspx?forum=treatments&topic=forced-exercise-to-relieve-parkinsons-disease-sym

Good luck

Kenki
Hi Bedouin

Welcome to the forum.

Great that you've found cycling so beneficial and well done on the weight loss.

I've not ridden a two wheeler for a year or so, instead I thrash it out on a one wheeler (spinning static exercise bike), twice a week.

I do a whole bunch of other exercise and really miss it if I don't do it. I believe any form of exerciseto be highly beneficial.

I'd better read Kenki's link now!!

Good luck, keep on riding and posting

MURF
Hi Bedouin
Im also 6ft 4in and have also gained a lot of weight im 20st ,4 years ago i was a 4 times a week man at the gym, i was a fit 16st, ive also bought a bike to try and keep my legs strong, can you tell me how often you use it and for how long,i get a lot of hip and back ache so its the only exersice i can do,my weight gain isnt helped by the fluid retention that i think is caused by the medication, ive had tests that are ok .As if pd isnt enough i find my weight very depressing, im 60 and hand on heart i dont overeat, but im very imobile at present, well done in losing 2 stone
PARKYPETE
Hi ParkyPete,