Dad living alone

Hi all
My dad has suffered with Parkinson’s for about 12 years. Is is now 77 and very frail. He lives alone with the help of a carer once a day and meals delivered.
He had just been admitted to hospital again for uti linked to constipation. His mobility has been increasingly difficult and I find I am constantly worried about his well being.
I work full time as a teacher and live 1 hour 30 minutes away but try to visit every weekend and ring him at least once every day.
He is very determined to live independently but is now finding this both very difficult and lonely. I think the latest hospital admission has fully demonstrated how much he needs more day to day support than I can provide but this leaves me feeling so very guilty.
What have others find us the best way to approach the future and options available to him.
Thank you so much for your time

First off, I would like to say that I can’t offer much in the way of advice, as I am in a similar situation and know how helpless you can feel, hence why I joined the forums yesterday, that said however, if I do come across any helpful information I will be sure to pass it on, though it may not always be transferable as I’m in Scotland. But know that you aren’t alone, I know how guilty it can make you feel that you probably can’t give as much time as you would like, you need to strike that balance between care and allowing your loved one to live as they see fit. Can I ask if you know what your Dad’s feelings are on this ? We have mentioned the possibility of assisted/sheltered housing to my mum but she is living in the flat she shared with my dad who passed 2 years ago and I think she is loathe to move because of the memories she has there, is there a similar motivation ?

Hi @Teachingcaz, :wave: