DBS help please

I'm hoping someone can advise me please.

my husband had DBS in May at Queen Elizabeth Birmingham. We went to be switched on 2 weeks ago but they thought he still had medication in his system so couldn't do it. We have been back today and it was still unsuccessful, they have done a CT scan but we won't get the result for 2 weeks as the surgeon is away.  

We are beyond devastated, has anybody been in this situation but gone on to a successful conclusion?

thank you

Karen x

KAren

I have no experience of this.  But is it that they haven't turned it on yet or that it is not functioning?

Andy (Ojalahey)

Can't judge it at least for some time after it is switched on

I had DBS surgery in March 2015.

I am puzzled by: "but they thought he still had medication in his system".  This is such an important event in someone's life, that I am certain you and your husband followed  instructions to the letter and that he avoided medication prior to being switched on.

If you are having no joy with your contact within the NHS, I suggest you get stroppy and change to someone who can be of help.

Peter.

Karen

How's it going with your husband's DBS .   i assume they've switched it on.

So has it helped him ?

Andy (ojalahey)

Had my DBS November at Addenbrookes last year and electrodes were placed on both sides. It has not been easy, in fact my surgeon, consultant and nurses are perplexed by my reaction to it!!  The operation was for a tremor on my left side and was carried out under general anaesthetic and had to wait two weeks for the "switch on" - understandable as the brain has suffered certain trauma.  Since then, in spite of some good times when I felt so well and thought I could tackle anything, I have now developed a severe tremor on my right hand and left leg is off again.  The left arm is ok (for the moment). Those good days were wonderful.