Diagnosed 18 months ago

Hi, I am recently diagnosed with Parkinsons (18 months ago) I had made a routine appointment with my doctor after noticing a slight shaking in my right arm, I was referred to the local Parkinson clinic for tests … the tests involved touching from nose to finger … birdy song tweets and walking in a straight line etc etc … all rather silly I thought …after only 10 mins of this … I was told I have Parkinsons … I was gutted ! Torn between thinking the worst and also disbelief and what to say to my wife and family? I asked for a scan but was told they are too expensive ?? I was told the prognosis is good as I present with only a slight a tremor and no meds were offered at this stage … I have had 2 appointments since … not the best …I’ve never seen the same person twice … So. I get on with life as normal i.e. I have spent this Summer walking, hiking, swimming getting about as usual with no problem… I play guitar and sing for a living … I have a great social life and no trouble with any activities … a slight dexterity loss in my right hand when playing guitar but hardly noticeable just now … I don’t really want the world to know or feel sorry for me or treat me any different but inevitably a few friends have asked me about my shaking hand and I have told them it’s Parkinsons …I just get on with life and live it… I have decided not to attend the Parkinson clinic for now as I don’t have any faith in them at all, I find this forum far more helpful … thank you for your posts … please feel free to comment . Maurice :wink:

2 Likes

Hi @MauriceUK1

Your experience sounds a bit like mine except that my neurologist did agree to refer me for a scan so I was able to get a firm diagnosis. It really annoys me how difficult it is to see the same person twice. I always feel I have to start explaining from the beginning to each different person I see.