Did anyone try to find the cause of your PD by yourself?

Hi,

I'm 46 and have been diagnosed with PD 9 months ago (confirmed by DatScan). I'm taking Azilect but not taking L-Dopa yet (I'm also taking Vit E and CoQ10 - but this was "self-prescribed" as I understand they are good anti-oxidants and don't seem to have much drawbacks - hope it's true).

I'm not a medical doctor but been reading a lot about the medical aspects of it and am trying to find out the "root cause" of PD for me (I suspect different people will get PD because of different causes). If anyone tried something similar - or just wish to comment or provide ideas - I would welcome your feedback.

Here's a quick summary of my approach and my understanding so far (again: note that I'm not a medical doctor, so this could be all wrong):

My understanding is that PD arrives when (a) our brain produces too little dopamine or (b) too many dopaminic neurons get destroyed.

At least for the first (too little dopamine), there seems to exist a "formula" of how the brain normally creates dopamine. To me this formula implies that in order to create dopamine at "normal" levels the brain needs to have a "normal" supply of all the key "ingredients" in the formula, which are: (1) L-Dopa, (2) something called "Pyridoxal-phosphate" (which essentially seems to be vitamin B6), and (3) something else with another great name ("Aromatic L-amino acid decarboxylase"). My understanding is that one needs to have the right balace of these 3 ingredients for things to work well (and please note that I keep reading that too much of one "ingredient" alone can also be harmful.. so pls don't start taking vit B6 complements on a "just-in-case" basis after you read this as I have no clue, but it could just make things worse if you already have too much of it).