Education?

You got diagnosed, your PD progressed, etc. So you 'retired'.

Has anyone done higher education as a hobby, or to feel like you've accomplished something?

If I can't work, I'd like to study. I just don't want to go down as failed or unfulfilled as I feel now.
Hello Parkin Mad, I completed a degree in social science during my early diagnosis years and I must admit it felt pretty good to graduate, knowing that the pd did not put a stop to my ability to learn and achieve.

I would say go for it as it all keeps the mind occupied and there's a lot to be said for that rather than sitting at home dwelling on this dreadful condition.

take care
glenchass
Hello I have done a couple of further education courses which have distracted me from the PD and ,I hope ,exercised my brain. I think it needs exercising as much as your body. So I would say find something you re interested in and go for it.
Best wishes

samdog
Hi

I started a degree in "working with children with special educational needs" just before being diagnosed with Parkinson's.I managed to complete the degree which gave me a real sense of accomplishment.

I'm still working full-time with a few tweaks to my workstation and computer and I am starting a qualification in leadership and management in January.

I know I've been very lucky with my employer who, despite knowing about the Parkinson's gave me a promotion to manage a team of four people. It's hard work and can be stressful at times,particularly when dealing with issues around child protection, but I love it.it gives me a focus and makes me feel useful. The Parkinson's hasn't taken away my ability to do my job, just makes it a little bit more challenging
I work for the education Department, which gives me regular time off work for half terms etc. That really helps, having regular breaks to recharge.