Effects of Medication?

I am seeking info on a rather strange aspect of my Parkinsons. I was diagnosed 15 years ago and have taken my medication regularly since that time....currently on Mirapexin and Sinamet Plus.

The odd thing is I never, ever, been aware of the medication effecting my symptoms, for good or ill!  ie... it does not appear to benefit me when I take it and when I forget to take it on time, which does happen occasionally, my symptoms do not register that. In other words I take it because I was advised to do so and not because I think it does me any good. At one stage it made me doubt the diagnosis but this has now been confirmed by way of D AT scan.

Is anyone else experiencing the same thing? If so I would appreciate knowing how you deal with it and what explanation/s you may have been given. I have been asking for 15 years and have never had an answer, let alone an unsatisfactory one. 

I was wondering if I was developing dementia and writing posts without realising it, but I think the answer is you have chosen the same username as me! How confusing!

I hope you find an answer to your dilemma but did you have symptoms 15 years ago that led to you seeking a diagnosis?

If so you are incredibly lucky that the drugs control it so well.

goldengirl

Hi

I'll try too put this best as i can

Since i became aware i was ill I have changed but the pills have given the illusion that i am holding onto Ability and that i am in a way coping with change, but I know or feel if i was too stop medication, i don't mean missing a pill as occasionally as i do, i take them and question afterwards did i just take one or not??, then i would really struggle. that's not too say i don't struggle now i do, but it would be unimaginable perhaps.