End Stage Parkinsons - words of wisdom needed

Hi. I have not posted before . In fact I am quite new to the PD world as Dad was only diagnosed last year, but in hindsight he had many symptoms: lack of sense of smell, drooling, small handwriting etc. We put his decrreasing mobility down to his arthritis and the fact he was 94.

After an infection and hospital stay where he got the diagnosis last year, he is now in a care home and is ‘end-stage’.

He can’t get out of bed, can’t have solid food as he chokes and his teeth don’t fit anymore, has hallucinations. Some days he does not eat… His speech is not good without his teeth.

We were told he was on the end-of-life pathway about a month ago with an estimate of about a week of life. Anyway, he is still with us, desperate for solid food and to walk. His heart is strong and he is going nowhere.

His grandchildren came to say goodbye, and yet here we are…

How long will all this last? I jump at every phone call, I can’t leave town , just in case, we do nothing but wait and go and see him which distresses us and him, because we won’t get him up/give him the food he wants etc.

3 Likes

Hi @tertiana,

First of all, my heart goes out to you and your family - this must be an awful time for you all. There is no real way to prepare for end of life, but we have some practical advice on how to deal with the emotional issues relating to Parkinson’s and the later stages of life, including a booklet which you can download. You can find this information on our website here - https://www.parkinsons.org.uk/information-and-support/preparing-end-life.