Fathers Symptoms Worsening

Hi, my name is Will.
I am new to the Parkinsons Forum and only realised it was here as my Dad has started to worry me a bit recently and i’m concerned about his lifestyle. I just need the point of view of people in a similar situation and found the forum.

My Dad has PD and has done for about 10+ years. He is 63 and retired around age 56 or 57 due to ill health.
I still live at home with my brother and mum. We were managing mostly and I can see over the years how his health has gradually declined. But the last month or two has resulted in a noticeable decline.
I’ll list the things i’m most concerned about below.

1. He is always anxious/nervous. He is afraid to talk to people on the phone. He doesn’t like being in busy places around lots of people. He doesn’t like doing new things (like going somewhere new or to a new club). He really doesn’t like being taken out of his comfort zone anymore. The house is like his comfort blanket and he gets nervous/anxious if he has to go out anywhere.

2. He spends most of the day sleeping. He states that his tablets always leave him feeling tired and lethargic. He must spend about 3-4 hours during the day asleep on a normal day (probably around 3 x 1 hour naps). He is then struggling to get to sleep at night and spends half the night up. Because he didn’t get a good nights sleep he is then tired in the day time and the process repeats itself. He just can’t break the habit of feeling tired in the day. Additionally if he does something like e.g. go for a walk, it’ll impact him a lot more to the point where his body acts as though the walk has been 10 times further than it actually was. His energy levels deplete and his tiredness accelerates in no time.