Folk musician

Hello, I was diagnosed about 14 months ago. My symptoms are still mild and don’t yet interfere with daily activities so I am not yet on any medication.(I have no problem with taking medication but prefer to delay until necessary and my consultant is in agreement with this approach).However, I am a keen amateur folk musician (fiddle and tin whistle) and
am starting to have problems with my left hand. I am particularly interested in hearing from other musicians.Two questions really - do people instinctively know when it is time to start medication and what medications have musicians found helpful I know that how people react to medication varies a great deal. Grateful for any thoughts on this. Many thanks

Hi Folkmusician, and welcome to our Forum community! It’s lovely to hear that you are doing and learning everything necessary to continue playing. We just wanted to make sure you were aware of our free and confidential helpline at 0808 800 0303, along with the resources on the website, for research and support. We are happy to have another music-lover in the community (check out our Favourite Songs thread, it’s gold!) and we think you will find lots of like-minded wise and supportive folks here.
Again, welcome, and enjoy!
Jason
Moderation Team

Hello Folk musician .I struggled to learn the guitar from the age of sixty as I fancied being a folk singer in my retirement ,but as the years past my progress was dismal— I put my stiff fingers down to age but then I found my handwriting shrinking so finally gave into my wife’s wish to get to my GP ,hence to a neurologist and started on sinemet. All of a sudden I could strum to the end a song and haven’t looked back ( just need to find the courage to join with a group now! ).
The neurologist told me there is no benefit in the long run from delaying medication so why waste precious time ( as I did) if you have symptoms affecting your playing?