Golf....and PD

Hi,

I was diagnosed last year. My golf suffered badly and helped me get the diagnosis. I then took 3-4 months off to get used to the medication. Initially after some time I was back to normal…82-85 and feeling ok but recently have struggled to hit a ball!

I have tinkered with dosages and timings of medication and am getting incredibly frustrated. I am a English dude living in Singapore.

Feel free to keep in touch and pass on any tips to improve my current shocking golf.

Hello peterhone … I too was an obsessive golf nut. I am 69 & I got diagnosed with Atypical Parkinson’s following a positive DATscan 6 months ago. In hindsight I have
had Parkinson’s issues for at least a few years. I played in the UK 6 months of the year & then 6 months in Florida.

My first problem was walking. I could walk for 14 holes then hit the brick wall. First 14 holes in 8-10 over par, last 4 holes in 8+ over par. So I started riding a golf cart.

Then my putting went. The first time I noticed it I was playing a pairs better ball medal & we were doing well. I was on the 9th hole green, a par 5, in 3 shots. My partner was off the green in 5 shots so picked up. I started to shake standing over my 10 foot birdie putt. 15 putts later I was in the hole for 18.

Another instance I was literally one inch from the hole & putting for a birdie. I had terrible shakes & had to back off 3 times before finally holing the one inch putt.

I did master putting by using a mid length putter with a hands apart grip. I was having around 36-40 putts a round, a considerable improvement. My 10 handicap had gone to 24.1

As things have progressed I have gone from 5 rounds a week [with golf cart] to only being able to play 1 round a week.

Sadly I game a week became too difficult & I gave up a few months ago.

There is another gent at our club who has the normal Parkinson’s who was off 11 & is now off 36. He can walk the course & plays 3 times a week & thoroughly enjoys it.