Heartbroken, husband newly diagnosed

Hi, Not sure if I’m allowed to post on here as a partner of a newly diagnosed person? Normally I’m a very positive person ( glass half full). But I’m really struggling to cope with the " what does the future hold" part of this awful diagnosis.
My hubby of 45 years, has always loved life, music, travel, food, sport etc. I’m terrified at the prospect of losing him anytime soon. We’ve not long retired & had so many plans to travel etc.
I’m ashamed to say I’m mourning the loss of our planned life together, not just for him but for me! is it very wrong to feel sad for yourself along with the person affected. I don’t feel I can admit to these awful feelings without looking disgusting to friends & family, when it’s my poor, lovely hubby who will be going through this.
( I’m a retired nurse by the way, & feel I should know better!). The diagnosis has only been in the past week, so is what I feel normal?
Thank you for hopefully understanding. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Hello Mike,
We wanted to take a moment and welcome you to our community forum. We understand the feelings you’re having, and we can assure you that you are not alone in this. Carers’ mental health is vitally important, as you’ll find as you peruse the forum. You can find some helpful information on our website here: Caring for someone with Parkinson's, and we encourage you to reach out to our free and confidential helpline when you have medical questions or when you just need a friendly ear, on 0808 800 0303. Please don’t hesitate to take advantage of these resources as you get to know our lovely community.
Warmest welcome and best wishes,
Jason
Forum Moderator

1 Like

Hello MikeCC
I will keep this short as it’s getting late and my typing tends to give up on me at this time of day but having read your post I felt I had to write something back straightaway.
First you most certainly are allowed to post on the forum - all comers are welcome whatever their connection to Parkinsons.