Hello - And Newly Diagnosed

Hi

This is my first time on this website so ill start by introducing myself. My name is Sarah and i am 29 years old. My mother was diagnosed with parkinsons 2 years ago and we have found out she has had it for about 9 years, she is 59 years old. This was a majot shock to the family and we were all devastated but over the last 2 years we have all been coping well, and as we are a close family anyway this has helped such a lot to come to terms with it.
Then Last week i received some shockling news, after going for a dat scan, as i had a slight tremor on my right side, i have too been diagnosed with pd. I am absolutely in shock, and after crying and crying im really unsure now on what to do.
My neurology wants to start me on medication but my mum is not taking any and is perfectly fine. So im really unsure on what to do. I have recently started a new job as a prison officer and thought i would have a long career in this role, and now im worried this will not be the case. I have a 12 year old and cannot bring myself to tell him this news as he didnt take it well when he knew his nanny was not well.

So im on here just to hear of any other young people who have been diagnosed and whats the next step from here??

sarah
Hi Cornetto 12

Welcome to the forum. I'm afraid I cannot help much with your own devastating news as a (very) young onset PWP's as I am 72 but I'm sure others will soon be replying to your post. You will find a lot of support and information from this forum as well as from Parkinsons UK. Please note the helpline top left which provides support as well as practical information. There are several people on here who have had to tackle the question of whether and how to tell younger children