Hello i am new

hello to everyone, i am new to this so please excuse any mistakes.
my name is joplin, my husband was diagnosed with parkinsons about five years
ago.does any one out there suffer with alot of pain.if so how do you deal with it.
Hi Joplin

Welcome to the community. I am sure that you you will get a lot of ideas and support to help answer your questions.

you might also want to have a look at our information sheet on Pain

http://www.parkinsons.org.uk/PDF/FS37_PaininParkinsons.pdf

Tim
Hi and welcome! I think we all suffer with varying degrees of pain and discomfort and I cope with my by exercising to relieve the stiffness and soreness of my muscles and also by the use of topical creams with Ibuprohen etc.

I hope this helps, if your husband is suffering badly then maybe a trip to the GP to be asked for referral to pain management clinic? Good luck!
Hi Joplin,

Welcome to our forum. You will find lots of info and empathy here. The PUK information sheets are really helpful.

Unfortunately, pain is often a Parkinson's symptom - even early on. I wholeheartedly agree with BJS that stretching and exercise (at whatever level can be managed) does wonders for stiffness and aching muscles. Pilates and yoga have been mentioned elsewhere on the forum and you might like to Search for those threads. Whether your husband goes for drugs to deal with pain is a very personal choice and probably depends on a number of factors (including other underlying conditions). Judging from what I have read on this website, ibuprofen seems to be widely used but it doesn't suit everyone. Personally, I take ibuprofen and amitriptyline at bedtime because pain bothers me most at night and I have a back problem. As BJS also said, your GP/family doctor is the best person for your husband to ask first because the doctor should know his medical history.

Best wishes.