Hello I'm new!

Well I have never done anything like this before...

Well recently my grandad (mums side) has moved down to live with us as he has Parkinson's. It has got to the stage where he has his food cut up, he can't get out of bed or a chair  or into a bath without the help of someone. I've never really thought about it too much, as I wasn't and am not really close to my grandad as he has never been around or lived close. anyway the main reason for my joining of the forum is I found out last night that my dad (44 years) was diagnosed with Parkinson's 4 weeks ago. He told me he's been really depressed and my mother who suffers with depressing has totally ignored it and not spoke about it to him. He said he needed to tell me because he wants someone to talk to. I am not allowed to tell anyone in the family as he doesn't want them to know and he doesn't want his own business to suffer if people find out he has Parkinson's. He also told me that my grandad (dad's side) has had Parkinson's for 2 years.

i really am in total shock, I don't know what this means. Will he have to stop working soon? Will he need help doing tasks? I'm really scared to talk to him about it or ask questions, maybe because I don't really want to know or don't want to be upset. I don't know whether I'm happy to know or wish he'd not told me. Either way my dad's always been the strong person in my life due to my mums depression and I feel like now I have to be the strong one? 

I just want some advice really. 

Thanks and and that's my story!

Hello, 12009243, and welcome to the forum!

You came to the right place to talk about PD and get information from people who have the disease and from family members like you, who have to deal with PD secondhand.