Hello

Hello all,

I am not that new to Parkinsons (I was diagnosed three years ago in 2009) however am quite new to technology so am getting to grips with this forum and pleased to have discovered that it exists.

I am nearly 60 and definitely not a silver surfer.....yet! Nice to know there are others out there and would like to say hi to everybody.

I am ok with having PD and managing well living on my own with a big garden and a lively dog! I am sure I will use this forum more and more, if I can work out how i found it again!!

Sarven
Welcome to the forum. I was diagnosed 2 years ago and I am in my 50s.
I have stopped working, how about you?
Hello, thanks for your message. Yes I have stopped working - i used to be a farmer (farmers wife) and then set up my own dog walking business which was very successful but very tiring! Too many miles to walk everyday.

I stopped the dog walking three years ago as I knew I was struggling with it and then I received my diagnosis - all made more sense after that. Now I just walk my 1 year old spaniel - which has alot of energy!

How about yourself?
Hi, it's interesting that you say you used to be a farmer (farmer's wife). I have a friend with PD and he was also a farmer. I live in the countryside, surrounded by fields and agricultural land. My next door neighbour was diagnosed with PD 18 months ago and I was diagnosed this summer. Could there be a link, as is suggested, with pesticides used on the land? Does anyone know of any statistics that say whether people who live in rural areas are more likely to get PD than townies? Just a thought.