Hello

Hello,
I am a 68yrs old retired nurse diagnosed with PD 18months ago but of course I had it way before then,but thought it was something else!!
Anyhow I've got it but it hasn't got me.
I'm very active belong to a gym,have a great interest in flower arranging entering floral competitions,and going to shows.
I enjoy as much of retirement as I can days out with friends,holidays and meals out.
I have 5 cats of varying ages and my son also lives with me,husband long departed.
So despite PD lifes not bad it could have been worse,as my consultant said.
I'm taking Pramipixole 1.57mgs,doesn't quite control tremors which are my main symptoms,and I am ok as long as I can sleep well,don't get agitated and hungry.
I feel wary of taking these drugs,my other main problem now is excessive sweating out of my head and feeling as though I am unsteady on my feet(I'm not)after lunch,if I go out in the afternoon,don't feel it in doors.
Does anyone else have these problems,I'd love to hear from you.
Shakycat
Hello and welcome, Shakycat!

I am a 67-year-old retired teacher and have had PD for approximately 16 years. Like you, I belong to a gym and keep very active and try to remain optimistic. All of this seems to work.

But I also take quite a lot of medication now in order to control the symptoms that emerged over the years. Your dosage of Pramipexole sounds small to me, because I'm on the maximum dosage (US doctors' opinion, anyway) of 6 mg. per day. I have been fortunate with all the meds. -- no side effects.

Odd sensations of imbalance are not unusual for pwp, I think. I sometimes experience the feeling that my gait is awkward; but when I ask observers, they can never detect anything unusual. Tremor has not been a problem for me, though I'm sure others on the forum can comment on that. You'll find plenty of reliable information and good fellowship here.

Best wishes.
Thank you for your welcome look forward to being a forum member.

Shakycatwoman