Hello

I have been watching from the wings for a while and thought I would finally contribute. Before being diagnosed I was a service engineer for a crane company (working at heights) so it has had a drastic affect, I thought it best to inform my managers as it was a health and safety issue. They have been very good and now I'm mostly office based but I am finding it very difficult to adjust. Has anybody had anything similar and regained enough benefits from medication to return to their previous careers?

hi popple, my pd was very aggressive but i managed to work for 6yrs untill i had to give in but i  was a plumber & heating engineer ,maybe as you have a office based job now which is good will help you to carry on working,shame tho i bet the views were lovely ! 

Hi popple

Yes I've only been Dx since June I'm a HGV mechanic/ engineer I build concreat plants and such like, I had a cognitive melt down at work due to stress and exhaustion  which was caused by pd .

Ended up with left hand tremor left foot lazy dizzy head n memory probs I had walking probs n stiffness before dx pluss other things related to pd.   all of which I'd put down to getting old lol .

when I was dx I could hardly stand up and defiantly couldn't climb a cement silo   Tallest one we have is 70ft tall , gp thought I'd had a stroke one emergency nuro appointment later and I was told it pd, I'm now on 8mg requip xl a day n things are pretty good not perfect but ok, I'm back to work but not on lorrys I do plant n machinery now plus my concreat plants lol. I can climb and work at hights n have got my confidence back so I've been lucky , if I'd been put in an office I'd have gone mad inside a week as I'm only happy with a spanner in my hand lol,

well I hope that's some help to you and you progress as well as I've done and get back doing what you enjoy.

Live well.  Cc