Hello

Hello my name is Neil i am 42 years and was diagnosed with PD November 13th 2014, i am taking 12mg of ropinirole. i have a wife and two kids aged 7 and 10 (haven`t told them).

Not really sure what to make of the diagnosis but my wife and my parents have taken it harder than i have.

I am in full time employment as a vehicle technician when i noticed using some of my tools was becoming difficult with my right hand becoming slow in movement and my right leg trembling. not being able to work is the one thing that scares me.

(never wrote enything on a forum before so apologies if i have waffled)

Neil. 

Hello and welcome, 

I hope you find the forum useful. I was diagnosed April 2012, age 51, I work full time in Health care. Even though I was a registered nurse it was difficult to get my head round the diagnosis.  

On here there are lots of hints and tips. You will find the right time to tell your kids, and it is often more difficult for our nearest and dearest to accept. 

Hope to see you around the forum

Take care 

Helen

hi

I was diagnosed last october @ 44, i used too work in catering but reached the end of  that road, diagnosis took a year, but i think i may have been ill for as long ago as 15 yrs, i kept my family and those closest informed all along the way, although i don't think they still really have grasp of it for one reason or another older generations i suppose.

Hi Neil welcome to the forum . I was diagnosed in sep . I am 45 and have a son of 19 and a daughter 13. I have told my son but my daughter just knows I have s problem with movement at the moment . I work for myself full time . I'm trying to carry on as normal and keep positive . I've known deep down something was wrong for a few years . It took a long time to get a diagnosis . Even so it was a shock . It has been the other way round for me . I think my husband and parents have coped better than me .