Help

Hi all my name is Lee I’m 47 and back in November I was told I have Parkinson’s it came about because I was a taxi driver and because of my age I hat to have a medical and the doctor said I have a tremor in my hand and leg on my right side and because of this I failed my medical and was but on sick leave I’ve had a brain scan and that was clear then I had a dat scan and in February I was told I have stage 2 of Parkinson’s now because of my tremors slow reflexes and the fact that I walk on outside of my right foot I’ve now lost my driving license I don’t know if I will get it back I’m hoping in time I will
This is the bit I’d like some help with please because I’d been on sick leave for some months back in January I hat to have a medical with the DWP and in March I was told my results I was told anything under 15 points you are fit of work and the closer to zero the fitter you are for work and I got ZERO meaning I am 100% fit for work I told my neurologist and my P nurse and they told me that at the moment I am not fit for work and told me to ring PUK I told them what was going on and a lady name Claire came out to me and we did a test like the one I did with the DWP and this time I got 46 points Claire has been fantastic she is helping me fight the DWP but the bit I don’t get is if my neurologist and P nurse say I’m not fit for work at the moment why is a muppet from the DWP say I am why do we have experts in there field in the NHS if the DWP say you are fit for work I’m told the stress of the DWP is not good for me and in two weeks time I’ve got to go to London or tests to see if there is anything they can do for my foot.
has anyone else had any problems with the DWP??
Sorry for the rant and the long letter

Lee

1 Like