Husband with parkinsons & recently had DBS

Hello - my husband is in his mid 60's has had parkinsons for 12 years or so & had DBS this summer to try & assist where medication was leaving gaps. Thankfully the surgery all went well, but we have been quite disappionted in the outcome as 6 months later we are still trying to see a positive result from the surgery. Has anyone else had this experience? We could do with some other comparisons. Thankyou, this is the first time I have tried a forum & I hope what I have written makes sense!
Gill
Welcome to the forum. I hope you find this place as helpful and supportive as I have done. I was dx 8 years ago aged 39.

I'm sorry that you have not seen benefit yet from your husbands DBS surgery. I don't know much about DBS but I am sure that some of the other members here will be able to share their experiences.

Elegant Fowl
Hello gill and welcome.

I have no personal experience of DBS but met the mother/carer ofa young man who had no benefit from the operation at a parky support group. At the same meeting there were a slightly older couple, the pwp was on his first social outing in 2 years after having had a good outcome from surgery.