I hate these drugs!

Are there any bloody drugs for this that don't make things worse?

Started Entacapone to make the Madopar last longer. I knew it was a mistake before I even tried it and sure enough I get side effects as I always do.

It is now 2.30 am and I have been twitching, jerking and cramping up since 8.00 last night. It's been getting worse ever since I started about three weeks ago.

It does nothing to the effects of the Madopar so what's the point ????

Can I stop taking it ? No apparently, according to the leaflet I could die !!!!

Any ideas gratefully received

Tired and fed up and have to be up for work at 6.45

Caroline

Caroline,

I'm not a doctor, so make of this what you will. I can find no evidence that missing a dose of entacapone (especially since you've only been on it for three weeks) will kill you. I frequently miss doses of Stalevo (which contains entacapone) with no ill effects, other than losing the benefit it gives me.

Taking entacapone magnifies the impact of levodopa (one of the components of Madopar) by about 30%. Perhaps your dose now is too large.

What drugs were you on before the change 3 weeks ago, what were the doses and when did you take them? What were your symptoms then?

What drugs are you on now, what are the doses, and what time do you take them?

Remember, you're in charge of your drugs, your drugs aren't in charge of you. The drugs are here to make things better. If they are not doing this, get your doctor to prescribe something different, or instruct you on how to take your present drugs more efficaciously.

John

Hi John

I am only taking 100/25 Madopar (Pretty much the lowest dose) and just started taking 200 of Entacapone, they don't come in a lower dose.

It says in the drug leaflet that you mustn't stop taking it as it could lead to some weird syndrome that could kill you.