I'm a Newbie & I don't type well

Never done this before!!

The emptiness of the space below is a bit daunting but here goes!

I was diagnosed in March 2013, the only good thing the neuro consultant said was to point my wife & I to this site!

My wife spoke to the person on the helpline & found it a great help. I joined Parkinson UK and found the Bristol Branch. (We live in a suburb of Bristol)

I really believe that now is a good time to have PD!! This sounds daft I know but it's true! The Bristol group is very active, our social life has changed big time, and the scale & buzz of this sit is instructive & impressive.

We (me & SWMBO!) have just completed a six week "Path through Parkinson's" programme & we both found it very very helpful. I was really happy to be with a number of people who all had, or cared for someone who had PD, the relief of not having to start by explaining what PD is etc etc before you start was huge!!

Anyway we were helped by two moderators one local male and a lady from Derby who were really good. The atmosphere was respectful & broadly positive. (I say "broadly" because I don't want to give the impression that we were like a group of kids at Sunday School!)

Will add more later.

Thats great to hear yeh your right you have got the best support group ive heard off im only 42 had pd for 8 yrs live in dorset.Heard bristol has young support group, not heard of anywhere else that is close to me.And you have frenchay hospital best nero consultants & pd nurses in the world.HAD MY DEEP BRAIN SURGERY DONE THERE.They have some real good research there.Try google it. frenchay hospital have a look.nice to meet you by the way.lol

By the way nor do i type well!

Hi and welcome. Your typing looks great! I don't type well these days (never was a touch typist) and it gets worse at nights. Left hand is the problem. I use Word documents to type in as it overcorrects a lot, I correct the rest, then copy and paste, esp at night.