I'm Newly Diagnosed

Hi
I am a self-employed roofer and have just been diagnosed with Parkinson’s at the ripe old age of 48. For the last 2 years I have been walking round unable to swing my right arm, holding it up in a position similar to having it in an invisible sling! As with ‘youngessexman’ , it’s been blamed on over use of power tools. With my fine motor movements disappearing, my handwriting became smaller and has now pretty much dried up completely. At mealtimes, I would also stare across the table at my daughter without much blinking, aware that I was doing it but unable to stop myself. All this time my wife had noticed that I was slowing down. Various trips to the docs led to having physiotherapy for the arm with the physio’s crowding round me saying that they’ve never seen anything like this before?
Then 6 months ago, I started to have an internal shaking (sometimes external) which is now always present. It’s in my yawns, stretches and when I close my eyes, plus my teeth chatter. Back to the doctor who says I AM NOT shaking but as I am leaving, out of frustration, says he’ll refer me to a neurologist.
A few weeks later as he calls my name and watches me walk up the corridor towards him, he diagnoses me on the spot…

Sorry to waffle on but here’s where I might need some advice. I’m currently on Requip XL for about 5 weeks now and last week went up to 4mg a day from starting on 2mg. Since starting these, I have got progressively more light-headed – light on my feet and unbalanced. I believe this is a common side effect but as you can guess from my job description, being dizzy and working at height every day doesn’t go too well together!

Can anyone advise me whether I am stuck like this or will I get back to normal soon? Or will these feelings get worse as I go from 4mg to 6 and 8 and beyond? Or do I need to switch to another type of agonist?

Well that’s me – hoping someone can help. Regards.
Hello John.