Inclusive Design

Hi, I am a student at Northumbria University.
I am currently undertaking a project called 'Inclusive Design'. Where my aim is to develop a product that may aid certain users but can be used mainstream also. Products that aid certain disabilities often come with a stigma attached to them, I want to remove the labels and 'other-ness' attached to some products. There should be subtle quirks and tweaks in products to aid certain people whilst being in a mainstream market.

http://enabledbydesign.org/ - this website is a prime example of what I mean.

Personally I am studying into how certain restrictions/problems people have causes that their diet to suffer and meal time becomes a chore. My grandfather was a Parkinson's sufferer and I know this was true for him. I have been looking into the idea of a stylish tray to encourage mealtime as an activity more than a chore. I was thinking of embedding certain elements such as

embedded heat source to keep food/drink warm
magnetically stuck bowl/plate/cup
altered cutlery
extra grip
digitally embedded recipes, specific to each users needs. (e.g., easy, quick, simple, adheres to medication restrictions, flavoursome)

Any value in this idea?

Hopefully this wasn't too longwinded or complicated :smile: any comments or suggestions would be immensely appreciated

Thanks
Jane
There certainly is Jane , at least that's only my opinion .

I am always devizing ways amd means . My husband uses a smaller size fork and spoon and I wind elastic bands around the handles . In his case he finds disabality cutlery to cumbersome .

I place the plate on top of non slip material cant thik what its called at the moment and I perch it on top of "don't laugh" the remote control .. !IT WORKS FOR HIM lolbut he cannot change stations until he has finished ........... I am working on other things so if you want some tips please get in touch
Great ideas Jane......