Information please

Hi

I'm studying to be a nurse and have project on Parkinson’s to do. I was wondering if anyone would be interested in answering some questions for me. I would be grateful for any help.

Some questions I have are if PD affects people intellectually?
Some social effects and what services are out there to help people with Parkinson's.

Thanks

Clair
Clair,
Personally I would say that Parkinsons affected me in a way that if I have a lot of information coming into my brain at the same time I am unable to cope with it and my brain seems to go into overload and shuts down , I can only deal with one thing at a time and then it has be done slowly. I only joined the forum a few days ago and it made me realise that I am not alone !
Hope this makes sense !

Good luck with your project !

Mark
Hi Clair.

The important thing to remember about Parkinson's, despite its name, is that it's NOT a disease it's a syndrome. You can't catch it, or infect others with it.

Due to the "disease" tag I think a lot of people shy away from sufferers, as they don't understand it. And it's not a fashionable cause; you never see celebrity quiz contestants on TV trying to win money for PD, it's always Great Ormond Street, Cancer Research or the British Heart Foundation.

The syndrome is caused, as you know, by the loss of one's natural supply of dopamine, and the effects of this are different in every single patient. There are dozens of possible symptoms, and each sufferer will experience one or more of these, in varying degrees and combinations. So the medics have to tailor the medication very much to the individual patient.

Then there are dozens of different drugs available to the neurologist, and as before every single person will react to each drug differently. Some will also suffer negative side effects - again different for every patient and every drug.