Introduction

Hi,
I am so glad to have found a forum so that I can share my experiences with helping to care for my Dad who has PD for the last 9 years. I hope this forum will help me to understand this disease better. I am a retired teacher and my Dad has recently moved to a care home near to my home.
Hello Buzz,

Welcome aboard. Nine years caring for someone is a long time. I looked after my in laws for the last seven years of their lives and boy oh boy did it stretch my resolve. I was diagnosed as a PWP just after the third year of them living with us. We do it because we love them and it is the right thing to do but it does put an awful strain on the relationships of all who live under the same roof. given my experience I would not wish myself on either of my children in my old age.
You have my total admiration.
Do tell us more please!
hi buzz welcome to puk forum,im ali been dx for 11 years im 43 years old.you have deffo come to the rite forum it has so much surport and very good friends to be made.im sorry your dad has got pd,and has had to go in a home now.if there is anything you would like to no about the disease buzz me self and many more members will be there for you:smile:
Hi Buzz
Sorry to hear about your dad and welcome to the forrum. Here you will find a great bunch of people who are well experienced in the effects of the dreaded pd.If things start to geet you down, just clock onto the forum and you will always find someone to cheer you up. all the best

Chunky:smile:
Hi,
Thank you all for your replies. I already feel amongst friends and am so glad I joined up.

Buzz.
Hi Buzz

Welcome to the forum. Hope you find it helpful I know I have thanx to the lovely folk here. As your dear father has Parkinson's you will know what a very cruel disease it is and we all hope that one day they will find a cure. I wish you well and look forward to seeing you on the forum if you feel the need to have a chat.

PB x
Hello Buzz,