Introduction

Hello . My name is Florrie and I am 56 later this month. I am an active person and swim and keep fit 4 times at least a week.This is the first time I have written on the forum. I am looking for advice and feedback.

My story....During 2009-10 I had a little twitch in my right hand which I had pointed out to my family. I work as a professional and everyone said it was stress, but I love my job and am very capable at it. I went to the GP in September 2010 and said I had a twitch in my right hand and also I thought a slight resting tremor. I asked was it Parkinsons and he said no. Said may be stress but it was no better as the year went on. I went back to my second GP in early 2011... she said the same and gave me an anti depressant as i was up the walls but said she could refer me to a nourologist if I wished as I was very anxious. I said yes as I was now very weepy. This appointment did not take place until April 2011 and again the neurologist said it was not, he thought, Parkinsons. He did lots of practical tests. I was sooooo anxious I asked if there was a test could be done. He said I could have a DAT scan but he said he was 99% sure it was not P. I insisted and so the DAT scan was done in July 2011. The result said there was "the presence of a Parkinsonian syndrome" I was told this over the phone and was devastated.... cried for days. Didn't even know what this meant When I saw the neurologist in September 2011, he said to get on with life and tell noone and that it was so mild it was not noticeable. Other people might not even have been to the doctor with this. I saw him again in September 2012 and he said I was in good form and no need for any medication apart from Propranolol for my anxiety and even had an ECG done which was ok.