Is everything on the internet reliable information?

Hi,

My name is Karen and I am a Resources Editor at Parkinson's UK. I am doing some research for an article that will be in the next edition of the Parkinson about using the internet to look for Parkinson's and health-related information.

Have you used the internet to look for health or Parkinson's-related information? How do you decide that what you are looking is reliable information? 

Thanks for considering!

Hi Karen

I've been trying to think about what I actually do. For someone who prides themselves on having a bit of rigour, I suspect that shamefully I am quite random and prejudiced.

I’ll probably steer clear of sites fronted by a man (it’s always a man) in a white coat, especially if improbably handsome, and double-especially if the brand is eponymous. Press releases are often a turn-off, too.

And anything that offers “cures,” suggests potency for all manner of ills, goes against current medical thinking (this last is a real worry to me: what great breakthrough am I missing?), and anything else that reads “wacky” (that’s quite a list for me: so boring I remember the 60s).

I’ll probably be more impressed by sober-suited sites from NHS (though these can be Noddy level) or NICE, linked to by PUK (you gotta trust someone), big pharma (with the obvious drawback that they’re, er, big pharma), peer reviewed papers (with the obvious drawback that I don’t understand them).

What do I want? Something in the middle. I have a science degree, but know no biology. I need simplified, but not simple, texts on what’s going on with me. Why? So’s I can manage my own condition more effectively (and be able to converse more intelligently with Turnip).

Best wishes

Semele

that would be nice (just joking!!!) Agree very much with Semele.