Just to say Hello

Hello everyone. I am new to all of this but want to get as much knowledge of pd as I can. My Mum has recently been diagnosed with Parkinson's the same week that she was diagnosed as having emphysema! Great week that was! My Mum bless her is trying her hardest to be positive. The only thing is she is also the main career for my Dad who at 81 is disabled and has so many problems I wouldn't know where to start with it all. I try and do as much as I can for them but feel so torn as I am also a single mum with a 10 year old. I also work part time and am trying to juggle so many things and don't feel like I am doing a good job of any of them.
I want to be there for my Mum and Dad but at the moment don't know what to expect from this illness. Will Mum need be to be around more other than just cleaning the house for her. Sorry I am rambling. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Try not to look at the problems as a whole entity, take each one as it comes and it will be easier to deal with. My other half has had pd for coming up for 7 years and he is also becoming increasingly forgetful, but we try to laugh in the face of adversity and take each day as it comes. We can't change the future but we can try to enjoy each day. Keep positive. - Silverstone
I am so sorry DSA, it must be feeling a bit overwhelming for you. I could hear panic in your voice which is understandable, given the circumstances.

One thing to remember about Parkinson's is it is a progressive condition, your Mum won't suddenly need more help, it will be a gradual process, giving you time to adjust to the news and think about how you will manage.

There are loads of agencies (age concern etc, as well as home carers, who can help you. You don't have to do it all on your own and there are benefits you can apply for such as attendance / carers allowance to help cover the costs of care.