Knitting

Hello 

I'm an Occupational Therapy student and I have started working with a lady of 83 who has Parkinson's, she has a real love of knitting and is very experienced but hasn't done any in recent years. I think it is due to a mixture of her symptoms, anxiety and the impact of the condition on her mood. I want to explore this with her as I have read a lot about this being an effective method for peoples symptoms.

I will approach it sensitively but I also wondered if anyone had any advice on size of needles or type of wool to use, who may have returned to knitting themselves or used knitting as an intervention. I'm only just starting to knit myself so I'm quite new to it.

Thanks

Hi OTJB

I was interested to read your post about knitting.  I find it very therapeutic especially in the evening when I sit down to watch tv or listen to music.  At rest my arms tend to ache and I get pins and needles in my hands so i find it very distracting and annoying.  However when i am knitting these symptoms disappear and I forget all about them.  It is also a very calming activity if you are doing simple knitting which is mainly what I do.  I think if you were returning to knitting after a while probably it is best to try something simple using double knitting wool. I would suggest a primary colour which contrasts with the needles, something cheery would be good so that it is easy to see the stitches.  Once proficient there are some really beautiful multicolour wool that knit up like fair-isle even with simple knitting.  I have just completed a number of babies hats using this wool as all i had to do was knit a rectangle then sew them up.  It is always more interesting to see what emerges from this wool.  Hope this helps.

Hi