Levadopa

i hear so many of you saying take the levadopa test..if you respond to it you have pd...what exactly does levadopa relieve as im lost with it..im no better now than i was 4 years ago when i was diagnosed ie its reliveved jack s**t for memad

i take  levadopa ( Madopar ) , the levadiopa coverts to dopamine which is the chemical that is lacking in the brain if you have pd  , the cells within your brain that make dopamine which is needed for movement die in pwp so replacing the lost dopamine improves the symptoms hence why some neuros will give a levadopa test to help confirm a pd diagnosis

i am not technically minded but  just what i have learnt from reading up about pd

hope this helps

Are you currently taking levadopa ie Sinemet or Madopar ?

im currently taking co beneldopa which i think is madopar..been taking it 4 years ..my only symptom is tremor which has never been relieved by this medication...i see the nurse next week so hopefully she can shed some light on this

the madopar i take does not not completely relieve my tremor it only calms it down slightly , yes co-beneldopa is madopar ,

I take 3X1/2 Sinemet CR per day, which is very similar to Madopar, and it hardly affects the tremor at all.  When I asked my Neuro about this he said that it was no surprise, and that tremor was the most difficult symptom to control out of all of them. Would it be a good idea to bully him for a higher dose? I have been diagnosed for 2 years. Another general observation I might make is that any new or changed medication takes a very long time to settle down and have any real beneficial effect. It is very frustrating, but PWPs have to learn to patient.