New Diagnosis

Hi,

I have recently been diagnosed with PD, it is a bit of a 'Life Changer' for me as I work as a Security Contractor in the Middle East which means the diagnosis effectively ends my job, so having to re-evaluate my whole approach going forward from here, I suppose I am not alone in that respect.

Again, like most people, I ignored the tremors for to long (18 months) but under pressure from my wife went to the doctor, lesson there, don't ignore your body's signals.

I do have one question if anyone can advise, I have been on the drug Sinemet for 10 days now and my left hand tremor has got worse, is this the experience of anyone else? and is it just my body adapting to the drug and will settle down over time?

Anyway, thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this and I am happy I now have this forum to talk about PD to people who understand.

Hi & welcome

Would you say your tremor is worse 2 or 3 hours after a dose of sinemet? or at times of stress/activity. 10 days in. if so it could be  as you say a signal from your body resulting in the tremor, your dose & drug( that may include change if one isn't effective) will be tailored to you over the course time too meet demand from your body is calling for.

Hello Sea Angler,

I would say the tremor has got worse in general, to be honest my work comes with a constant level of stress so cannot really comment on that.

Thanks for the reply, it helps, as you say, I am only 10 days in, so maybe some adjustment needed on the medication over time.

I am re-deploying back to UK at end of December so maybe can assess after that. (In a less stressful environment).

Cheers.

hi yes all should be a little clearer picture once you've settled back in the uk.