New here

Hi -

I’m currently waiting for a consultant to look at me, and there’s the potential of a Parkinson’s diagnosis. I’m a professional musician. Or I used to be before The Pandemic, and my musical future is now in doubt -

I’m in my 50s and quite fit, but have had an arm tremor since last year, and a couple of months ago my hand stopped working - it just seized up one day and I can’t close or open my fingers more than a slight extent, and there’s this cramping a few times a day. Effectively I only have the use of one hand.

It took 5 weeks to get a 10min phone chat with my GP, but then I was quickly examined in person, and now I have an ‘urgent’ consultant appointment with a Neurologist in 4 months time.

Meanwhile it’s pretty unbearable. My other hand seems to have the beginning of something going on with it.

My GP said it looks like Parkinson’s, but I don’t have general slowness, and I’m seriously thinking about looking into a private referral to a neurologist if that could be any faster than four months. But I’m nervous of the costs expanding into scans/whatever expensive extras.

Is this a familiar story?

Hi Lemon,
Welcome to our lovely forum community. You are likely to soon hear from our members who are always full of valuable experience, advice, and support. If your diagnosis does turn out to be Parkinson’s, we have a wealth of knowledge on our website at Parkinsons.org.uk, from research news to personal blogs to archived forum threads, all loaded with helpful information. We also have a free and confidential helpline, at 0808 800 0303, staffed with friendly and massively helpful advisers armed with answers to an epic array of questions.
We wish you the best of luck on your journey,
Jason
Mod Team

1 Like