Hi I am Lynn, my husband was diagnosed PD almost 2 years ago, he is 64 I am 53.
We have 2 boys who live at home with us, the youngest is still at school.
Since diagnosis my husband has had to give up his job as a coach driver and we have lost 1/3 of his income. I am a nurse and I have been working full time and some to make ends meet but we are really struggling financially and we are not entitled to any state help.I am happy to work and I would not have it any other way but I cant earn enough to pay our mortgage and all the other bills
Is anyone in the same position?

Hi Lynn,
I am not sure whether they will be able to assist you but, if you haven’t already done so, I would advise you to contact “Social Services” and “Age UK”. Ask if they can send someone to discuss with you whether there are any “Benefits” for which you and/or your husband may qualify. Nothing ventured - nothing gained. Best of Luck. Gerrard

Hi Lynn
Have you looked at PIP (personal independence payment)? Your husband will need to be under the State Pension age in order to claim but it has certainly helped me.
Trish

1 Like

Recently he had an assessment and he was declined due to the fact that he was able to walk into the centre, albeit slowly and although he cannot cut food up or handle anything hot he can put a filling between 2 slices if bread so in their opinion he can prepare a meal!!