New to forum

Hi,
First time here. My husband has had a Parkinson’s diagnosis for 5 years. (He is 62, so still relatively young)He is no longer mobile and I need to use a hoist to lift him. He needs this to enable him to use the commode. He has hallucinations and shows a number of signs of dementia. He is medicated but can have disturbed nights. He is demanding of me and is also extremely anxious much of the time. I’m feeling very much overwhelmed and stressed.

Hello, and welcome to the forum.

I’m a relative newbie - my diagnosis was last year and I’m at a fairly early stage in the progression of symptoms. I’ve already felt the warmth and support of this forum and I trust you will find something similar.

Your caring role must be a huge demand on you. I have enormous sympathy and respect for what you are going through.

I share in the caring of my sister who has MSA-C. Her rapid decline into disablement has been saddening and exhausting. Her condition is quite rare by comparison with PD and her treatment and drugs are unable to do anything but make her slightly less uncomfortable.

So I have some experience of living with and alongside a progressive, degenerative brain condition. Caring is such a massive job - both physically and emotionally demanding. Looking for support/companionship here is a good move I think.

Jon

Hello Toughacttofollow and welcome to the forum
I was sorry to read that you are having such a difficult time after such a relatively short time after your husband’s diagnosis. It would seem his decline has been quite rapid and severe if he already needs to be hoist transferred.