Newbie here looking for advice

Hi there. My dad was diagnosed with PD nearly 4 years ago. Considering his age (80) he’s doing pretty well. The main thing is anxiety - he worries about things that wouldn’t have bothered him before.

However I am feeling increasingly distant from him and his partner. I get to see him just a few times a year even though they only live just under an hours’ drive away. He’s always putting off making any arrangements to meet. He doesn’t drive any more but his partner does, and I do and it’s no problem at all for me to drive over to see them, even just for a cuppa. Last time I saw him 2 months ago I said it would be nice to meet during Easter hols, and he wrote it down, but when I spoke to him last week he said can we postpone it as he’s been feeling anxious, but he does get good days when this doesn’t happen. I feel disappointed as it was my daughter’s birthday recently and we always get together around birthdays.

Trouble is, if he is waiting for a time when he’s not feeling anxious it might never happen. I suffered with post natal depression and I found just getting out once a day or seeing a friend made the world of difference. I’m sorry if I sound selfish but I’m finding it hard to understand why he doesn’t want to see us when he appears to be generally going about his day to day things (shopping, walks etc) relatively ok.

Thanks for reading and any advice would be great.

Hello,

Could you maybe just visit without prior arrangements? Maybe then he won’t feel anxious, as it may be a pleasant surprise?? You may just be the welcome distraction that he needs sometimes??
Could it possibly be his partner declining the invite after you leave??

Best wishes

Claire

HI i agree with claire a surprise visit may make a diffrence
i can understand his anxious feelings i had and still do get them
i dont know your dad and we all react diffrentley to PD
i had times when i craved my own company but still didnt want to be alone