Newbie looking for advice

Hello
I am a newbie here and wanted to find out a bit more about PD. I’m not even sure if this is the right place. So let me start by telling you my story.

My mother in law has been suffering with severe depression, anxiety and agitation for a couple of months before the possibility of PD was mentioned. She recently saw a Consultant psychiatrist about her depression, anxiety and agitation and he said she may have PD but immediately backtracked not wanting to alarm MIL, who at that point didn’t pick up on it, my wife who was with her did. The consultant said he wanted to deal with the depression first before going down the PD testing route.

The following day MIL visited her GP for an appointment to look at her anti-depressant drugs. During that consultation he blurted out that he thought she should be tested for PD and said her notes contained PD possibilities raised by two other practice GPs. The signs of PD MIL has are:
tremor in her left arm and hand, poor mobility, dexterity issues when dressing and shuffling, stooped, open mouth. The GP said he would request a test on the NHS and the appointment would take about 8 weeks to come through. On returning home MIL decided to ring the local Spire clinic and ask if they did the PD test. I’m not sure what she was told but the upshot was that she is seeing a consultant neurologist this week.

Not surprisingly the bombshell dropped by the GP has made MIL even more depressed, anxious and agitated. We won’t know for sure if she has PD until she sees the neurologist, and maybe not even then. But my question concerns the links between the depression, anxiety and particularly agitation. Could these be symptoms of PD or are we looking at two separate issues here? One treated by a psychiatrist and the other by a neurologist?

Thank you for reading this. If you have any advice that may help the family help MIL deal with this.

Hi there,